Funding awarded to three regions to regenerate brownfield sites

Derelict sites across three regions will be transformed into new homes, as the government announces funding to create 2,500 houses on underused brownfield land.

West Midlands, Greater Manchester and the Tees Valley Combined Authorities have been awarded a share of £30m funding to regenerate brownfield sites across the regions.

The funding – first announced in the Levelling Up White Paper – aims to support young people and families into home ownership and protect green spaces by transforming derelict buildings and car parks.

A further £8 million from the Brownfield Land Release Fund has also been allocated to 13 councils across England to deliver almost 900 homes, boost the self and custom build sector, support small and medium sized building firms and create thousands of jobs.

yellow and black excavator on brown soil

Housing Minister Rt Hon Stuart Andrew MP said: ‘Transforming derelict brownfield sites into vibrant places where people want to live and work is a key part of our mission to level up the country and is something I have supported for my entire career.

‘The funding announced today will breathe fresh life into former industrial sites, creating thriving urban communities and building more homes so young people and families have the opportunity to get onto the housing ladder.

‘Our levelling up plans for housing will be guided by this brownfield first approach, this includes the building of more self and custom build homes which will be a boost for small builders and create thousands of jobs.’

£4.45 million of funding has also been awarded to 16 local areas under the One Public Estate (OPE) programme, which will support councils to work with central government and public sector partners to unlock public sector land for an additional 3,000 new homes over the next 10 years, creating 4,500 jobs.

Today’s announcement builds on £120 million of funding for brownfield land announced in the Levelling Up White Paper earlier this month. The funding will also be given to 7 Mayoral Combined Authorities to deliver 7,800 homes on brownfield land. The MCAs receiving funding are: West Midlands, Greater Manchester, West Yorkshire, Liverpool, South Yorkshire, North of Tyne, and Tees Valley.

Photo by Abdul Zreika


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top